RSS Feed

Totes My Goats – Iron Goat, Canmore

Good Morning my fellow burger enthusiasts! I’m going to try to post more often, and more concise entries.  I’ve noticed I’ve been selfish with my long posts, akin to a professor droning on because he loves the sound of his own voice. Sorry!  I first became aware of this after reading my friend Monica’s awesome blog The Frugal Optimist.

For Calgarians, you might remember that, two weeks ago, it was a beautiful weekend.  The cold snap broke and the snow melted.  So naturally, we headed to the mountains to do some skiing in the sunshine.  Only one problem: everyone else had the same idea.  Cars were lined up to Sunshine and Lake Louise out to the HIGHWAY.  So we decided to hang out at the Chateau Lake Louise for a while, and then get some lunch in Canmore.

We weren’t sure where to go, I was pushing for the Belle Patate, a marvellous poutine place tucked away in industrial Canmore.  But Dave got pulled over by a cop for speeding in the national park on our way to Canmore, and the cop suggested this place off the beaten path.  We weren’t really sure what it was called, and we’re not sure if we followed his directions correctly, all we know is that we ended up at the Iron Goat. 

I’ve been to the Iron Goat several times, and it’s a beautiful place to lunch.  A huge picture window gives you front row seats to the mountain show.  The place makes you feel like you’re walking into a rustic cabin.

I’m going to give you the details quick and dirty.  The Iron Goat has great food.  However, their one weakness is portion sizes. You order a sandwich, beware.  I’ve had the Cuban and I’ve seen my friend’s smoked meat sandwich: they are tiny. It’s the size of a snack sandwich.  Taste good, but tiny.  Sorry, but if I’m going to a pub, I expect large, hearty portions.  If I wanted a tiny sandwich I would have made it at home.

But the burgers are a different story.  Dave ordered a Big Papi, and I ordered a Johnny Appleseed.  You’ll notice that the burgers cost a little more on the menu, around the $17 range, but it’s worth it.

Here’s what you get with Big Papi: Is it a burger or a monstrosity? You decide. Beef patty, nacho’s, banana peppers, cheddar, pimento cheese, chili, lettuce, tomato and red onion.

Here’s what you get with Johnny Appleseed: Beef patty, cheddar, house-cured bacon, lettuce, tomato, onion, Jack Daniel’s mayo, two apple rings and topped with a fried egg. And oh yeah a bun.

These burgers were monstrous.  And delicious.  Fries, they were all right.   Again, a smaller portion of fries than you get at most burger joints, but the above burgers were so massive I didn’t care.  The Big Papi, like a taco on a hamburger.  Dave didn’t like the crunch on the burger, so he ate some of the nachos like an appetizer before tucking in.  Verdict: tasty, juicy, big and one of the better burgers he’s ever had.

The Johnny Appleseed burger was also juicy, not overcooked.  The ingredients blended together for something that was rich and decadent, but the lightness and crunch of the apple kept the flavour from getting monotonous.   The egg, as always, provided an extra rich texture to the meat, further supporting my motto that : if you see a burger with an egg on the menu, order it.  Normally I would wax on about every bite that I enjoyed, but I’m going to let the pictures speak for themselves.

The Iron Goat is one of my all time favorite restaurants.  Come for the view, stay for the food.  Enjoy your weekend!

The Iron Goat Pub & Grill on Urbanspoon

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

