RSS Feed

Searching for my Burger Excalibur

Due to the lack of activity at work, I find myself with a lot more time to cruise the Internet.  This leads me, inevitably, to UrbanSpoon.  So I’m trolling the archives, searching for the next undiscovered treasure, when I see the “Awesome Burger”.  This is the burger version of Babe Ruth pointing to the center field wall and calling his shot.   It’s a high risk and high reward name, and I must investigate.

I haven’t been to a farmer’s market since my semester in Washington, DC in 2009, and I had forgotten how great they are!   Not only are farmer’s markets a place to get locally grown veggies, meats and cheeses, but they are home to an array of food vendors, selling everything from falafel to sushi.  Not to mention the free samples!  Awesome Burger has been in business since the beginning of the summer and unfortunately are only open for the summer, so no more Awesome Burgers anymore as of this post date.

I got the Awesome Burger, and my friend Gregg got the Scrumptulescent Burger.  If anyone knows what Scrumptulescent means, please comment below.  The burgers are precooked and then heated upon ordering.  At lunch time, that certainly makes a lot of sense, however, it often leads to tough, overcooked meat.  It’s an ok price  – $9 for the Awesome Burger (arugula, caramelized onions, cheddar, pickle, tomato, bacon, aioli, bbq sauce, sweet pepper).  I’ll pay that nine dollars because the quality of ingredients used – the cheese bun, the aioli sauce, the red pepper,  doesn’t come cheap.  But as I bit into it, I’m sorry to say that the Awesome Burger was more the Average Burger.  The quality of fixings certainly stand out, but when it comes to burgers, the meat must be the centerpiece, and this pre-cooked, tough, patty didn’t cut it.  I’m disappointed that I was not able to sing the praises of yet another undiscovered jewel, but no doubt that my burger Excalibur is out there, but first, I must be worthy to discover it and pull it from its Rock of Obscurity.

On the plus side, it was a great time to catch up with Gregg, who had been adventuring around Australia and then working at camp for the last 6 months.  I only managed to catch him just as he was headed off on a cross country road trip.  AND we discovered the most entertaining bread man.  I can’t remember his name but if you go to Banuka Bakery in Kingsland Farmer’s Market, hopefully you’ll be lucky enough to spot him.

Today’s post is short, because I don’t want to waste your time waxing on about an Average Burger.  Instead, sample the cuisine at one of the many other restaurants in the Kingsland Farmer’s market, you won’t be disappointed.

Awesome Burger on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

