RSS Feed

Seasoned Greetings

Hello Hamburger Fans,

In the wake of the holiday season, I thought it would be nice to update y’all about Hamburger Pants. For the moment, my quest for Calgary’s best burger has slowed, but has not stopped.  Here are the places I look to tackle in the new year:

1) The Alley Burger – either via truck or via Charcut

2) This place in Inglewood that apparently has great burgers

3) Cattle Baron

4) Lounge Burger

Got suggestions of where else I should go, let me know! Always on a quest for a good burger, especially in NE and SE, which I have not explored as much to date.  As another year draws to a close, we bid farewell to one of my favourite hamburger spots – Tommy Burger Bar.  For reasons unknown to me, although I did Tweet at them,  Tommy Burger Bar has shut down and I don’t know if they moved or if they just decided to stop.  Tommy Burger Bar was, in fact, the place where my good friend Leah and myself first crafted the idea for Hamburger Pants.  Among sips from their rich and decadent milkshakes, and bites of juicy, delicious burgers, we created a concept and dreamed a dream.  Sure, we were just joking at the time, but the dream of Hamburger Pants came true!

And since it is the season of giving, I would like a to give a shout out to a chain restaurant who has created a burger worth mentioning in this blog, even though it usually my rule to avoid reporting about chains, and stay more to local destinations.  But congratulations Five Guys, you made me break my rule! Five Guys is a chain that started in Washington, DC. I first ate a Five Guys burger and fries when I was interning in DC.  It was pretty good, but I was eating alone, and I think food always tastes better when you enjoy it with friends and family.  In my case, it was the latter when my mom and brother took me out to lunch this week.

I had the regular sized cheeseburger “all the way” meaning that you get all the toppings written in black on their list (sounds complicated? Don’t worry, they explain it all when you get there).  The staff will warn you, those who have eaten there will warn you, the regular sized burger is actually what we would normally call a double burger (two 1/4 lb. patties).  The “lil” burger is actually a regular 1/4 lb patty. But I went for the two patty special and I was not disappointed.  They weren’t stingy on the sauce, the toppings were plentiful but didn’t overpower the burger, if I could throw up some constructive criticism, it would be to ask the company to change their choice of cheese.  It’s rubbery processed cheddar and if that’s up your alley, props.  I wasn’t feelin’ it.

I will not wax on about this particular trip, I just wanted to let fellow burger fans know that Five Guys makes a delicious burger and they take care of their clientele.  So check it out! Also, they have a cute history, so you can read up on that here.

Finally, in one last paragraph I would like to say thank you to all the readers! I appreciate you taking the time to read my musings about hamburgers, a passion that might seem simple to some, but to me it’s been a great way to reconnect with my friends, have great conversations and have great adventures.  I look forward to seeing you in the new year.

Small gift – click here to open! (forget your bucket list, THIS is what you want to focus on achieving before you die, or you’ll die trying)

Five Guys Burgers and Fries (Heritage Meadows) on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

